The Summerstage series of outdoor concerts released its 2014 lineup this week, and as usual, there’s a slew of good shows from artists across the genre spectrum. For your convenience, we’ve dug through the schedule for the best hip hop, rock, reggae, and dance music events of the summer, many of which are free. Highlights include Blood Orange in Central Park, Mykki Blanco on the LES waterfront, and the Pro Era crew in Red Hook.


Tuesday, June 3: Ty Dolla $ign brings minimal R&B hedonism to Red Hook Park.

Wednesday, June 4: Marissa Nadler, Mark McGuire, and West Africa-indebted guitar hero Delicate Steve at Red Hook Park.


Thursday, June 6: Joey Bada$$’s Pro Era takes its ’90s-rap revivalism to Red Hook Park.

Tuesday, June 10: Actual ’90s rap luminaries Boot Camp Clik hit Brownsville’s Betsy Head Park along with Masta Ace and others for the Duck Down BBQ.


Wednesday, June 11: Get your thongs out for Sisqó at Betsy Head Park.

Sunday, June 22: A tribute to the late house music pioneer Frankie Knuckles featuring Soul Summit DJs, DJ Kervyn Mark, DJ Stormin’ Norman, and more at Bed Stuy’s Herbert Von King Park.

Thursday, June 26: More classic NYC rap, this time from the D.I.T.C. crew — featuring Large Professor, Lord Finesse, and the late, great Big L — at Crotona Park in the Bronx.

Tuesday, July 1: Beck’s Central Park show is already sold out, but that doesn’t mean you can’t sneak in.


Tuesday, July 8: Andrew Bird’s orchestral indie folk takes the stage at Central Park.

Wednesday, July 9: The Latin Alternative Music Conference, featuring the Beatnuts, Bodega Bamz, and Ana Tijoux, at Central Park.


Sunday, July 13: Funky art-pop heroes of the ’90s Cibo Matto hit Central Park with Bonobo.

Thursday, July 17: Mobb Deep’s grimy, nocturnal street rap comes home to Queensbridge Park.

Monday, July 21: A Central Park tribute to Pete Seeger sounds cooler in theory than it may be in execution — featured performers include Amanda Palmer and Michael Glabicki of Rusted Root. Hopefully Steve Earle and DJ Kool Herc save the day.


Saturday, July 26: Seminal dancehall/reggae artist and former Black Uhuru frontman Junior Reid comes to Central Park with Chronixx and the Rice and Peas crew.

Satuday, August 2: New Orleans legend Dr. John plays Central Park with Hurray for the Riff Raff.

Thursday, August 7: Mykki Blanco comes to East River Park.

Saturday, August 16: Blood Orange gives a rare-ish live performance to cap off the summer at Central Park.